A friend recently sent me some information on the seven virtues.  (I think he meant it kindly.)  They are, I assume in no particular order:

Chastity     Temperance     Charity       Diligence     Patience     Kindness      Humility

There is a converse sin associated with each:

Lust     Gluttony     Greed     Sloth     Wrath     Envy     Pride

I note at the outset that the sins are much shorter and contain less syllables than the virtues – just an observation.  But what really caught me at the outset was how the Catechism of the Catholic Church defines “virtue” as: “an habitual and firm disposition to do the good.”  One need not bat 1,000 on the list of seven, one only need have a “firm disposition” to do so.  Whew!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s